Click Banner For More Info See All Sponsors

So Long and Thanks for All the Fish!

This site is now closed permanently to new posts.
We recommend you use the new Townsy Cafe!

Click anywhere but the link to dismiss overlay!

• Share this thread on:
  • Follow: No Email   
  1. TopTop #1
    anaturalwoman
    Supporting Member

Boho's "Open Mic"

What Would Trump Do?

Do the opposite—you'll feel better
    BY STETT HOLBROOK

As a journalist I am, of course, all for an informed citizenry. Democracy dies when the public is kept in the dark or disconnects from what our government is up to. But sometimes staying too informed can be hazardous to your mental health. At least that's been the case for me when it comes to staying on top of the latest abominations from the Trump administration.

During the run-up to the election, I was glued to the news: Politico, the New York Times, CNN, the Washington Post, FiveThirtyEight—anywhere I could get an update on what I hoped would be Trump's demise. But when the loathsome man-child was elected, I doubled down on my news consumption with equal parts horror and incredulity. How can this be happening?

Over the next few weeks, I noticed a change in myself. I knew Trump's rogues gallery of cabinet picks inside and out and read the news of each executive order with pained interest. But my binge consumption of Trump news was making me unhappy. So I unplugged from Trump news. Trump was president. Every one of his utterances or actions was horrible. What else did I need to know? I focused on my kids again. I admired spring flowers.