Click Banner For More Info See All Sponsors

So Long and Thanks for All the Fish!

This site is now closed permanently to new posts.
We recommend you use the new Townsy Cafe!

Click anywhere but the link to dismiss overlay!

• Share this thread on:
  • Follow: No Email   
  1. TopTop #1
    Barry
    Founder & Moderator

Article: Michael Kyes answers to WaccoBB Sebastopol City Council Questionnaire

Please tell us a little about your background and why you want to run for the Sebastopol City Council.

I grew up in Berkeley, California, graduated from Berkeley High and went to CCAC and UC Berkeley, where I majored in mathematics. My family, who were Russian immigrants, owned a furniture shop on College Avenue in Oakland and I regularly helped in the store, including furniture repair and upholstery. Once I stared college, I worked as an auto mechanic primarily on high end foreign autos (I worked on Clint Eastwood’s Ferrari) and spent my spare time learning about the emerging world of micro computers. This led to a 35 year career in the computer industry.

As a child I spent my summers in Twain Harte and loved the outdoors. I joined the Boy Scouts and regularly participated in camping and backpacking trips. When I moved to Sonoma County in 1979 and met my wife I became involved in environmental issues and politics partly because she was active in environmental issues and also because it fit with my love of nature from my childhood.

When we moved to Sebastopol in 1989 I started attending city council meetings and rapidly became a crusader for preserving Sebastopol’s small town character as well as conserving the Laguna and our natural environment. I participated actively in civic life including joining the Chamber of Commerce, the Laguna Foundation Board, the Parks and Recreation commission and various other activities.