Click Banner For More Info See All Sponsors

So Long and Thanks for All the Fish!

This site is now closed permanently to new posts.
We recommend you use the new Townsy Cafe!

Click anywhere but the link to dismiss overlay!

• Share this thread on:
  • Follow: No Email   
  1. TopTop #1
    Barbara Moulton

Rainwater Harvesting--Any one got experience doing it??

I'm studying rainwater harvesting and its feasibility in Sonoma County. I'd like to communicate with anyone who is actually doing it. Thanks,
    Barbara
    | Login or Register (free) to reply publicly or privately   Email

2. TopTop #2
    Braggi

Re: Rainwater Harvesting--Any one got experience doing it??

Quote Posted in reply to the post by Barbara Moulton: View Post
    I'm studying rainwater harvesting and its feasibility in Sonoma County. ...
    All you need is a collection surface such as a metal roof on your house, and then the bigger problem, somewhere to put it. A pond makes the most sense, assuming you have the land to give up to it and a way to make the soil less permeable. Big water tanks are good if you can afford them but they hold a limited amount of water and then you might have to pump the water to get it where it's needed which can cost more than buying water from a municipal source. Still, having a couple thousand gallons of extra water can give you a good start on the irrigation season if your needs aren't great.

What do you have in mind?

-Jeff

3. TopTop #3
    Philip Tymon

We have a 1/2 day course in rainwater harvesting at the Occidental Arts & Ecology Center. Please see our website: www.oaec.org for more info.

I'm studying rainwater harvesting and its feasibility in Sonoma County. I'd like to communicate with anyone who is actually doing it. Thanks,
    Barbara

4. TopTop #4
    glenclem

The Sonoma County Library has several goods books on water catchment, also check out the book "Rain Gardens" by Dunnett and Clayden

Barbara

5. TopTop #5
    Moon

Re: Rainwater Harvesting