Click Banner For More Info See All Sponsors

So Long and Thanks for All the Fish!

This site is now closed permanently to new posts.
We recommend you use the new Townsy Cafe!

Click anywhere but the link to dismiss overlay!

• Share this thread on:
  • Follow: No Email   
  1. TopTop #1
    Valley Oak

SoCo Sups & Mike Thompson Gun Control Forum

I went to the gun control forum held last night (1.10.2013) at the county administrative building. I waited almost 3 hours to speak. My turn FINALLY came and I had a chance to express my opinion to my representatives.

I got up to the microphone and said, "Hi, my name is Edward Mendoza. I am a resident of Santa Rosa. I would like to ask you, please, to support:
    1. Criminal background checks for ALL gun sales, including private sales.
    2. Ban ALL assault weapons, including high-capacity magazines.
    3. And to make gun trafficking a federal crime.
    Thank you."

As I left the crowded forum, at least 3 people enthusiastically shook my hand and said thank you. There were other verbal thank you's as I exited.

There were so many people who attended that there was hardly any standing room outside the forum, anywhere in the large, crowded hallway. There was even an auxiliary room where people could sit and watch the forum take place via CCTV, and that room was also crowded. The forum room itself was a huge can of sardines and many people were standing all along the walls. The hallway had about 30 or 40 seats, all full.

The great majority of this audience, however, unlike myself and a few others, were overwhelmingly an NRA audience. There were some very astonishing things said, including one man who spoke into the mic and accused the public leaders there of preparing a war against American citizens because the federal government had purchased several million rounds of ammunition recently. Needless to say, Ron Paul's name was invoked several times throughout the evening as the many pro-gun speakers got their turn.