Click Banner For More Info See All Sponsors

So Long and Thanks for All the Fish!

This site is now closed permanently to new posts.
We recommend you use the new Townsy Cafe!

Click anywhere but the link to dismiss overlay!

Thread: Chamber Music
  • Share this thread on:
  • Follow: No Email   
  1. TopTop #1
    Fern Burch

Chamber Music

Hi, everyone--

I am a pretty good amateur classical musician who is thinking of moving to the Sebastopol area. I started a woodwind quintet in the East Bay and have kept it going for thirty-one years.

I'm wondering if anyone has suggestions on how to meet practicing amateur musicians in the North Bay who would want to join a group with the main goal of having a lot of fun, but also playing weddings, etc.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Peace,
    Fern
    | Login or Register (free) to reply publicly or privately   Email

2. TopTop #2
    Barry
    Founder & Moderator

Re: Chamber Music

Quote Posted in reply to the post by Fern Burch: View Post
    Hi, everyone--

I am a pretty good amateur classical musician who is thinking of moving to the Sebastopol area. I started a woodwind quintet in the East Bay and have kept it going for thirty-one years.

I'm wondering if anyone has suggestions on how to meet practicing amateur musicians in the North Bay who would want to join a group with the main goal of having a lot of fun, but also playing weddings, etc.

Peace,
    Fern
    My Dad, who passed last year, was an avid amateur musician, playing first violin in string quartets, etc. I got to grow up with live chamber music in my living room.

Welcome to Sebastopol, Fern!

Any other chamber music players (or chamber music player kids) out there? Are there chamber music websites that would be helpful? Should we start one here? I remember how my Dad relied on the printed directory. An excellent form of community, come to think of it!

Barry

3. TopTop #3
    erimbaugh

A good place to begin is redwoodarts.org (Redwood Arts Council,