Report for The Hannah Institute for the Study and Prevention of Infant Trauma
Completed by; Jo Spencer, Executive Director
[email protected]
December 28, 2008
The purpose of this report is two-fold;
To give an account of my work with the non-profit I founded ten years ago, ”The Hannah Institute for the Study and Prevention of Infant Trauma.”
To demonstrate that the primary problem with the human delivery service system is the ignorance and denial in addressing root causes. The root causes I refer to are based in the social, psychological, biological, and political environment.
I worked as a mental health counselor in psychiatric treatment, drug and alcohol treatment, and the criminal justice field spanning a period of twenty-eight years. My clinical experience is broad and deep. Yet, I did not finish my B.A. until I had been a counselor for sixteen years. There were clients to be helped and I was able. Acquiring academic credentials was very low on my list of priorities. Because of this I have a more objective stance with the system. Increasingly, in my work as a counselor, I came to see myself as an advocate for clients and patients, and felt less and less of an alliance for the system or the program directors I worked under.
I am well qualified to speak to the issues I am addressing. Had I desired to earn a Ph.D. it is not my intellectual capabilities that would have prevented me from it. The emotional problems I suffered in infancy have created a complex of symptoms within me that have resulted in an extremely unstable life. Consequently, the way I have learned psychology is different. At this point I consider myself an educator, a writer, and a minister.