Click Banner For More Info See All Sponsors

So Long and Thanks for All the Fish!

This site is now closed permanently to new posts.
We recommend you use the new Townsy Cafe!

Click anywhere but the link to dismiss overlay!

• Share this thread on:
  • Follow: No Email   
  1. TopTop #1
    Shepherd

In Search Of Poems On Darkness

I will be offering a gathering on "Sweet Darkness" next month in Santa Fe that will be based on poetry, stimulated by David Whyte's poem "Sweet Darkness" that Larry Robinson sent out. I am looking for some more poems on darkness, either written by you or others. Please send me any titles, links, or actual poems that you may have for me to consider.

I was asked recently to offer this event by a friend who lives there who heard that I was coming to vacation, so the idea is new and will evolve and change. Following is what I have come up with so far. It includes possible words for a flyer, a list of poems that I am studying, and a few fragments from those poems. My friend the artist Ross Lew Allen will combine some of these words with an image of his to produce an invitation.
    Thanks for any help,
    Shepherd, [email protected]

Sweet Darkness—A Winter Gathering With Shepherd Bliss
    Dec. 17, Sun., afternoon

Do you long for the light, especially at this time of year? Perhaps an acceptance of and journey into the darkness (the via negativa) may be in order. If you go down, enough, you are likely to come up, perhaps even into ecstasy. Darkness can be healing, instructive, and wise.