Click Banner For More Info See All Sponsors

So Long and Thanks for All the Fish!

This site is now closed permanently to new posts.
We recommend you use the new Townsy Cafe!

Click anywhere but the link to dismiss overlay!

• Share this thread on:
  • Follow: No Email   
  1. TopTop #1
    Barry
    Founder & Moderator

Michael Pollan - Eat some meat!

Here's a 7 minute video of Michael Pollan answering Time's 10 questions. I'm just beginning to tune to Michael's work, with The Omnivore's Dilemma sitting at beside unopened. His new book Food Rules: An Eater's Manual. sounds like it offers both wise and common sense advice on the increasingly complicated question of "What's for dinner?"

I was struck by his comments about meat, saying that it is both healthy and environmentally constructive to eat sustainably raised meat.

What do you think?

See it here:
    10 Questions with Michael Pollan - Video - TIME.com
    | Login or Register (free) to reply publicly or privately   Email

2. Gratitude expressed by 2 members:

3. TopTop #2
    jryeo

Re: Michael Pollan - Eat some meat!

Given carbon sequestration and increased biodiversity in intensively managed rangelands, yes it is environmentally constructive to eat sustainably farmed meat.

The "Free range" designation does not specify this type of farming - it's more a feel good thing for animal rights folks. Animals grazing preferentially on an open range are actually detrimental to the rangeland biodiversity and productivity. Conversely, high intensity short duration grazing enhances rangeland productivity by mildly tilling seeds into the soil, concentrating excrement, and equalizing pruning over all forage species to stimulate plant growth. There is no organization yet certifying intensely managed grazing.

Last edited by Barry; 01-25-2010 at 10:54 PM.

4. TopTop #3
    Jupiter13

Quote Posted in reply to the post by Barry: View Post