Click Banner For More Info See All Sponsors

So Long and Thanks for All the Fish!

This site is now closed permanently to new posts.
We recommend you use the new Townsy Cafe!

Click anywhere but the link to dismiss overlay!

• Share this thread on:
  • Follow: No Email   
  1. TopTop #1

I saw a mountain lion this morning

I was hiking up in Annadel Park.

I think it was a she, it was unmistakably a mountain lion, she was in a large meadow, about 75 yards away. Seemed to be looking for prey, and was only mildly interested in me.

I was pretty scared to tell you the truth, after that guy was just attacked in Humbolt County last week. Picked up a large rock, then continued on my way and reported it to the ranger station. They said they've seen lots of mountain lion scat in Annadel lately, even down around Spring Lake. They said they're coming down to the lake because there's no running water in the streams due to the dry winter.

I've been hiking in Annadel for 20 years, to date I've seen wild pig, wild turkey, all sorts of large birds, a jackrabbit who approached within five feet and just sat there looking at me, one bobcat and now one mountain lion.
    | Login or Register (free) to reply publicly or privately   Email

2. TopTop #2
    moonrise

Re: I saw a mountain lion this morning

That is scary because it's not often that people see mountain lions - including those who are attacked or threatened with attack. I've heard about people walking past them within a few feet not having any idea they were walking by one. My uncle had many times out in the wilderness packing that mountain lions stalked the horses all night. The lions are most definitely around here (and many other places). There's been signs posted in Annadel for years, also at Sugar Loaf, Jack London, Pt. Reyes, Armstrong/Austin and many other places. Now you know first hand they mean it :)